Island Pub Map

The following map shows all the pubs that have been on the Island over the years, except new ones in the Canary Wharf area, and except those I don’t know about yet (there are sure to be some of them).

Pubs are marked on an 1895 map, which best shows the pre-WWII state of the Island, but they they may have been present well before or after, and for sure not all at the same time. I don’t know the name of one pub.

To see the full sized version, click on the map.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Island Pub Map

  1. Ewan says:

    Hi there, I know how time-consuming it is to put things on a map, because I’ve done my own for E14. Regarding the unnamed pub, the closest to a name I could find was the 1871 census, where that site is listed as “Millwall Tap (Vulcan Arms)” with the head being given as John Sharpe, beer retailer. Obviously the Vulcan is a separate pub not far away to the south, so that name may be an error, but it’s attached to a brewery in the 1881 census, so it’s probably at least a brewery tap, and it’s not impossible that it may have had the same name as the other pub. I don’t have the King’s Arms, however, so I shall need to revisit my research!

    • Micky Lemons says:

      Ah, I think you’ve got it, Ewan. I have an 1862 map of the Island, and there is a “Millwall Tap Brewery” on the river at this location (site of future Atlas Chemical Works). The brewery does not appear on earlier or later maps, I can find no information about it, and it has always puzzled me. It never occurred to me that the unknown public house might have belonged the brewery. Interesting info for further research. Thanks for that.

      By the way, I intend to update the map soon (and the separate article on the different pubs). I’ve managed to accurately identify the location of the Waterman’s Lodge and a new one: The West India Dock Tavern. Plus I’ve found some (aerial) photos of pubs that I never had a photo of. Thanks again!

      • Ewan says:

        Ah yes, I have the WI Dock Tavern, but I don’t know the Waterman’s Lodge so that’s another one I’ll have to add to my own map. Every time I revisit the research, there turns out to be more hidden pubs…

      • Ewan says:

        I’ve added King’s Arms to my map now, but while I was checking I found census entries in 1851 and 1861 (under the name Jane Newman) for a Bricklayers Arms which appears to have been at or around the intersection of Union Street and Mill Wall, so that’s another one you might want to look into.

      • Micky Lemons says:

        Thanks again. I had heard of that one – the Bricklayer’s Arms. Discussed it with my fellow admins just last week, and it Was already on my list to look into. 🙂 Updated my own map by the way…. https://islandhistory.files.wordpress.com/2014/10/pubmap.jpg

      • Micky Lemons says:

        This is what started me off (from the Survey of London, Athlone Press….also online at https://www.british-history.ac.uk/): “Further south another mast-house, belonging to John Mawman, and a row of three small houses (then or later known as Patientia Place) had been built on the marsh wall by 1817, occupying the site of the millhouse belonging to a windmill erected in the 1690s (\ 68a ). Joseph Wright, who had a smithy nearby on William Mellish’s land, lived in one, James Bradshaw, a grazier, in another, and the third, later the Bricklayers’ Arms public house, was occupied by Augustin Sheurer, who by the mid-1830s had built a row of nine cottages in his garden (called Sheurer’s Cottages or Marsh Row). Henry Bradshaw, who now occupied the second house, followed suit in 1843–5, building five dwellings, Barn Cottages, on the site of his yard and cowshed. Bradshaw was also responsible for a number of buildings south of Marsh Row (including some cottages in Union Road and a house on the marsh wall at the south end of Patientia Place), and for embanking the foreland south of Cassell’s works. (ref. 118)”

  2. David Hamilton says:

    Is anything known of a pub called the ‘Navigation Arms’? There is a reference in the East London Observer of 6 February 1869 to “the daughter of the Landlady of the ‘Navigation Arms’, Millwall”. I’m looking for any information about the landlady – Ann Barton – or the pub. She was the widow of a waterman who also had interests in some houses near the City Arms on Ord Street.

  3. Pingback: The West India Dock Tavern | Isle of Dogs – Past Life, Past Lives

Leave a Reply

